August - The Holiday Season Is Upon Us!

Dear Readers

 

The holiday season is upon us and Londoners are off on their trips to get some much needed sunshine before the cold returns. So in terms of arts and culture activities, this month will be much quieter than last July, when the Shubbak Festival took centre-stage in terms of the MENA-inspired events calendar. 

As a media-partner with Shubbak, I was also fortunate to have had access to two incredible authors whom I interviewed for the festival blog. If you missed these, you can still read them either on the Shubbak website or on Nahla Ink.
 
Najwa Benshatwan: http://nahlaink.com/interviews/najwa-benshatwan-libyan-female-author-%E2...

Saleem Haddad: http://nahlaink.com/features/saleem-haddad-author-opens-about-debut-nove...

Otherwise August is an ideal time to catch up on the exhibitions with at least six shows running this month and worth the visit, including: 

Comics and Cartoon Art from the Arabic World (British Library): http://www.bl.uk/events/treasures-of-the-british-library

Living Histories (British Museum): http://www.britishmuseum.org/whats_on/exhibitions/living_histories.aspx

The Craft by Mona Al Qadiri (Gasworks Gallery): https://www.gasworks.org.uk/exhibitions/monira-al-qadiri-the-craft-2017-...

Transition (Menier Gallery): https://reconnectingarts.com/2017/06/21/transition-exhibition/

Shift (Mosaic Rooms): http://mosaicrooms.org/event/shift/

I AM (St Martin in the Fields): http://www.oncaravan.org/i-am-exhibition

You can find all of these and more Arab-London events listed on My Curious Inbox page: www.nahlaink.com/curious-inbox.

If you wish to be in the super-know, you can always follow me on Twitter @Nahlaink.

Best wishes to all!

Nahla Al-Ageli
Freelance Journalist + Blogger
London, August 2017
 

Image: Om Kalthoom - Transition Exhibition - 15 August-2 September - Menier Gallery